33 Days, 2970 Burpees, 13 Miles and a delicious new smoothie!

On top of my normal workouts I headed out to hike Elmore mountain today with my man and my trusty pup.  While the grey days of winter really seem to stretch on far too long, today was one of those special Vermont days when the weather was fair and the mountain tops were covered in a fresh dusting of snow.  It really was a beautiful hike and it’s a shame I didn’t think to snap a picture.

Afterwards we were starving!  Neither of us had really eaten enough to support the level of exercise we did today, which is always dangerous.  We headed to the grocery store and it was a real fight for both of us to not leave with a cart full of frozen pizzas and pastries.  We made it out with the veggies and eggs we went in for and quickly ran home to make what has become the most amazing smoothie I’ve ever had!  Chocolate lovers, this baby is for you!

In searching for new green smoothie recipes I came across this great post featuring 4 recipes under 400 calories.  I added protein powder to it and it was seriously incredible!

Image

Chocolate Covered Raspberry Green Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk (original recipe uses almond milk)
  • 2 cups organic spinach
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries (original recipe uses fresh and adds 1-3 ice cubes)
  • 2 tbsp flax seeds (original recipe calls for ground, I like using whole seeds)
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp raw cacao powder
  • 1 scoop of Fat Flush Body Protein

If you love chocolate and raspberries this is for you!  I also just got a jar of the Fat Flush Body Protein, which I’ve reviewed previously.  Now that I’ve been using several different protein powders I can make a better comparison.  It’s texture is closer to Plant Fusion powder I reviewed, in that it’s a very fine light powder.  It dissolves pretty well with minimal grit.  It does contain stevia which is a con for me, the stevia aftertaste annoys me.  While the powder itself has that sweet smell, the flavor in the smoothies hasn’t bothered me like it has with other powders.  I’d be happier if it didn’t have stevia but it meets all of my other protein powder requirements so I’m actually going to raise the rating on this from a B+ to an A-.  I’ll definitely finish the jug.

Leave a comment